Overseas Voter Registration for 2010 Philippine Elections

The Philippine Consulate General in Sydney will conduct the registration of Filipino Overseas Absentee Voters (OAV) who will cast their votes for the 2010 Philippine national elections for president, vice president, and senators. The OAV registration period is from 1 December 2008 to 31 August 2009.

Filipino citizens and dual citizen Filipino-Australians domiciled in New South Wales will register at the Philippine Consulate in Sydney, those in the other states and territories of Australia at the Philippine Embassy in Canberra.

The OAV registration is necessary for overseas Filipinos who are first-time overseas voters, have changed country or state of residence since the last Philippine elections, or did not vote in the last two national elections.

The requirements for Filipino overseas voting is that they must be current Filipino citizens, be at least age 18 years old on 24 May 2010, and residing or working outside of the Philippines. Parties who are not eligible are those who have lost or renounced their Filipino citizenship or have been declared excluded by Philippine courts for the offences of rebellion, insurrection, or violation of the Philippine firearms law.

The overseas voter must register at the Philippine foreign mission where he will vote in May 2010. Registration must be done in person, because the voter’s biometric data (facial features, fingerprints, and signature) must be digitally recorded. OAV registrants must present their Philippine passport or seaman’s book (in the case of seafarers) at the Consulate.

Filipino overseas voters in Australia will cast their votes during a one-month period from 10 April to 10 May 2010. They have a choice of casting their ballot either personally at the Consulate or by mail.