Jon-Ken pair takes 2013 PASC badminton title

THE men’s pair of Jonathan Tolentino and Ken Kouke took out the 2013 Philippine Australian Sport and Culture (PASC) badminton ‘Advance’ championship at the Bernie Mullages Sports Complex in Kellyville NSW recently. Tess Fernandez and France Fortu won the women’s ‘Advance’ title.

Runners up in the men’s ‘Advance’ were Madan Alagarraya and Palani Sivaperuman; in the women’s it was the pair of Siew Lan and Emily Tan.

A total of 52 pairs took part in the men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles competitions.

”Players were treated with breakfast, lunch and snacks to keep them moving and smashing those shuttlecocks to their might,” said PASC sports director and chief organiser Roldan Discaya.

”At the end of the day, few were declared champions, but all were winners ~ winners for playing their hearts out. Forget the trophies, every player won the crowd’s admiration for playing fair, hard, and most of all, for winning new friends,” added Mr. Discaya.

Other results include: Men’s intermediate ‘A’: winners Wilfred Tupaz Jr and Paul Chan; runners up Septian and Handy. Women’s intermediate ‘A’: winners Rachel Li and Oshiania Gunawan; runners up Glo Araullo and Gay Salac.